Skip to content

Prof. Yimon Aye, winner of the 2020 EFMC Prize for Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia

The European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC) has established the “EFMC Prize for Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia” to acknowledge and recognise outstanding young medicinal chemists working in European academia. The selection committee designated Prof. Yimon Aye (EPFL, Switzerland) as the winner of the 2020 EFMC Prize for Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia.

The Prize is given annually and consists of a diploma, € 1.000 and an invitation for a short presentation at an EFMC symposium. Prof. Aye is invited to give an oral communication at the XXVI EFMC “International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry” to be held in Basel, Switzerland on September 6-10, 2020.

Rising star in chemical biology, Yimon Aye received a training at the frontiers of small-molecule chemistry and mechanistic biology which endowed her with a unique, cross-disciplinary vision. Born and raised in Burma, Yimon Aye achieved her undergraduate and PhD degrees in Chemistry and Organic Chemistry at Oxford (UK) and Harvard (USA). During her postdoc training at MIT (USA), she studied the regulatory mechanisms of the enzyme ribonucleotide reductase. In her independent career that began mid-2012, Yimon Aye set out to understand the detailed mechanisms of electrophile signaling. This impetus culminated in the development of “REX” technologies (T-REX™ delivery and G-REX™ profiling). In a parallel research program, Yimon Aye studies pathways involved in genome maintenance and nucleotide signaling, including the mechanisms of anticancer drugs in clinical use.

As of August 2018, Prof. Yimon Aye is leading the Laboratory of Electrophiles And Genome Operation (LEAGO) at ISIC, EPFL (Switzerland) as a tenured associate professor. Yimon Aye joined the NCCR Chemical Biology in 2018 as a principal investigator. She is member of the NCCR steering committee.

Noteworthy, another NCCR PI, Prof. Andrea Ablasser (UPABLASSER laboratory, EPFL, Switzerland) has been recognised as one of the two most meritorious 2020 runners-up in the same category.

List of EFMC Prizes 2020 and previous Prize winners