Skip to content

Research Council: Prof. Gotta elected as new member

Monica Gotta, Professor in the Medicine Faculty at the University of Geneva and PI of the NCCR Chemical Biology, has been elected as new member of the SNSF Research Council, in the Biology and Medicine division. Composed of a maximum of 100 leading researchers, the Research Council evaluates project proposals submitted by researchers in Switzerland and selects the best ones for funding.


New members are elected by the Executive Committee of the Foundation Council of the SNSF. The new member of the Presiding Board is Andreas Mayer, University of Lausanne, president of the Specialised Committee Interdisciplinary Research. He will chair the Specialised Committee Interdisciplinary Research of the SNSF National Research Council as of October 2021.


The new members of the Research Council

Humanities and Social Sciences division

Simona Pekarek Doehler, University of Neuchâtel, for linguistics with a focus on Romance languages
Wassilis Kassis, University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland, for educational studies

Biology and Medicine division

Monica Gotta, University of Geneva, for genetics and developmental biology
Mohamed Bentires-Alj, University of Basel, for experimental cancer research

Programmes division

Eleni Chatzi, ETH Zurich, for engineering sciences


More info

National Research Council of the SNSF