Skip to content

Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry to Prof. Yimon Aye

Prof. Yimon Aye (EPFL and NCCR Chemical Biology)  is the winner of the 2020 Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry. Her selection by a committee of peers speaks highly of her tremendous accomplishments as a scientist as well as her independence of thought and originality. The Eli Lilly award symposium will be held as part of the Fall 2020 ACS meeting in San Francisco, CA.

Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry was established in 1934. Consisting of a bronze medal and honorarium, its purpose is to stimulate fundamental research in biological chemistry by scientists within 10 years of their last postdoctoral training . The Award is administered by the Division of Biological Chemistry of the American Chemical Society. Past recipients include Neal K. Devaraj (2019), Brandley Pentelute (2018), Howard Hang (2017). Congratulations to Prof. Yimon Aye!

Her independent career started at Cornell University  in mid-2012, where she set out to understand the detailed mechanisms of electrophile signaling. This impetus culminated in the development of “REX” technologies (T-REX™ delivery and G-REX™ profiling). In a parallel research program distinct from redox-dependent cell signaling, she studies proteins/pathways involved in mammalian genome maintenance and nucleotide signaling, including the mechanisms of anticancer agents in clinical use. As of August 2018, she is leading the Laboratory of Electrophile Signaling And Genome Operation (LEAGO) at ISIC, EPFL (Switzerland) as a tenured associate professor. She joined the NCCR Chemical Biology in 2018 as a principal investigator.